What Are "Never Events" and Whose Responsibility is it to Report it?

elderly woman with a nurse

In 2008 the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) issued a directive to the Medicaid/Medicare directors of all 50 states to explain that Medicare/Medicaid would no longer pay for medical care following a hospital or nursing home acquired malpractice.

The CMS directive indicated the hospital or medical facility that caused the malpractice should be required to provide or pay for the post-malpractice medical care they caused.

The CMS directive announced that Medicare would no longer pay the higher MS-DRG extra cost of treating the following categories of conditions while the patient is in the hospital:

  •  pressure ulcer stages III and IV;
  •  falls and trauma;
  •  surgical site infection after bariatric surgery & certain orthopedic procedures;
  •  vascular-catheter associated infection;
  •  catheter-associated urinary tract infection;
  •  administration of incompatible blood;
  •  air embolism; and
  •  foreign object unintentionally retained after surgery.

These conditions are sometimes called “Never Events” because they should never happen if hospitals or medical institutions follow their own safety precautions. CMS defines “never events” as “errors in medical care that are clearly identifiable, preventable, and serious in consequence for patients and indicate a real problem in the safety and credibility of a healthcare facility”.

At Burnett Legal Group, we focus on you and the evidence relating to your injury. We will evaluate the facts of your case and advise you of your legal options moving forward. Contact our personal injury attorneys at Burnett Legal Group to schedule a free evaluation, call (402) 810-8611 or contact us online.

Related Posts
  • Is an Assisted Living Facility the Same as a Nursing Home? Read More
  • New Nebraska Law to Protect Elders from Financial Exploitation Read More
  • Caring for the Cognitively Impaired in the Time of COVID Read More